News Sign-up

Sign up to receive SFAI exhibitions news and event notifications.

Complete the form below and select which email newsletters you wish to subscribe to.

Prospective students can request information about SFAI by submitting through our admissions mailing list. Alumni who wish to subscribe to our monthly alumni enews should update their information via the alumni contact form.

* indicates required
EXHIBITIONS + PUBLIC EVENTS
Sound Installation: Bill Fontana | Landscape Sculpture with Foghorns
Friday, Feb 16, 2018 - Tuesday, Jan 1, 2019
See More »
Will Brown: Ether
Thursday, Sep 13, 2018 - Saturday, Nov 10, 2018
See More »
Cine | Club
Friday, Sep 14, 2018 - Friday, Dec 14, 2018
See More »
Undergraduate Virtual Information Sessions
Thursday, Oct 4, 2018 - Thursday, Feb 7, 2019
See More »
All National Portfolio Days
Sunday, Oct 14, 2018 - Sunday, Jan 27, 2019
See More »
Whole Earth Catalog 50th Anniversary
Sunday, Oct 14, 2018 - Sunday, Oct 28, 2018
See More »
All Performing and Visual Arts Fairs 2018
Thursday, Oct 18, 2018 - Tuesday, Nov 6, 2018
See More »
Graduate Virtual Information Sessions
Thursday, Oct 18, 2018 - Thursday, Feb 21, 2019
See More »
Bloom & Decay: Beyond Opulence
Friday, Oct 19, 2018 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2018
See More »
DeShawn Dumas: Black Light: Wake Work Against the Aestheticization of Politics
Tuesday, Oct 23, 2018
7:00PM
See More »
Jarrett Earnest: What it Means to Write About Art: Notes on the Future of Criticism
Friday, Oct 26, 2018
4:30PM - 6:00PM
See More »
Ojos Suaves/Soft Eyes: Mirjam Wirz, José “Morelos” Ortega, Carlos Icaza
Friday, Oct 26, 2018
6:00PM
See More »
Book Launch: Mariana Castillo Deball’s Ixiptla IV – Feathered Changes, Serpent Disappearances
Saturday, Oct 27, 2018
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
A Very Crypto Town Hall
Tuesday, Oct 30, 2018
7:00PM - 8:30PM
See More »
Bean Gilsdorf: Soft Histories
Friday, Nov 2, 2018
4:30PM - 6:00PM
See More »
Leonardo Celebrates 50th Anniversary at SFAI: The Convening
Saturday, Nov 3, 2018 - Sunday, Nov 4, 2018
See More »
2018 Alumni Weekend at Concentrate
Thursday, Nov 8, 2018 - Sunday, Nov 11, 2018
See More »
PhotoAlliance Lecture: Eirik Johnson
Thursday, Nov 8, 2018
7:30PM
See More »
Into the World: Cherel Ito and SFAI Documentary Photography
Friday, Nov 9, 2018 - Sunday, Nov 11, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Into the World: Cherel Ito and SFAI Documentary Photography
Friday, Nov 9, 2018
5:30PM - 7:30PM
See More »
Grad Fall Open House
Saturday, Nov 10, 2018
10:00AM - 2:00PM
See More »
Concentrate 2018: Student Art Sale + Open Studios
Saturday, Nov 10, 2018 - Sunday, Nov 11, 2018
See More »
Shadow Master Screening
Saturday, Nov 10, 2018
2:00PM - 3:00PM
See More »
Undergrad Fall Open House | On-Campus
Saturday, Nov 17, 2018
10:00AM
See More »
Bill Berkson Tribute
Saturday, Nov 17, 2018
4:00PM
See More »
National Portfolio Day
Saturday, Jan 12, 2019
12:00PM - 4:00PM
See More »

Past Events

Opening Reception: Bloom & Decay: Beyond Opulence
Friday, Oct 19, 2018
6:30PM - 8:00PM
See More »
Graduate Virtual Information Sessions
Thursday, Oct 18, 2018 - Thursday, Feb 21, 2019
See More »
All Performing and Visual Arts Fairs 2018
Thursday, Oct 18, 2018 - Tuesday, Nov 6, 2018
See More »
The Pleasure, Profits and Politics of Sex & Photography A Show & Tell with Annie Sprinkle
Wednesday, Oct 17, 2018
7:00PM
See More »
Environmental Network
Monday, Oct 15, 2018 - Saturday, Oct 20, 2018
See More »
All National Portfolio Days
Sunday, Oct 14, 2018 - Sunday, Jan 27, 2019
See More »
PhotoAlliance Lecture: George LeGrady
Friday, Oct 12, 2018
7:30PM
See More »
Ad Minoliti: Non-Binary Geometry and Feminist Expanded Painting
Friday, Oct 12, 2018
4:30PM - 6:00PM
See More »
Bik Van der Pol: Creating Publicness
Tuesday, Oct 9, 2018
7:00PM
See More »
Alive in Strange Lands
Monday, Oct 8, 2018 - Sunday, Oct 14, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Untitled
Friday, Oct 5, 2018
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Untitled
Friday, Oct 5, 2018 - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Strength In Awareness
Friday, Oct 5, 2018
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Strength In Awareness
Friday, Oct 5, 2018 - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2018
See More »
Undergraduate Virtual Information Sessions
Thursday, Oct 4, 2018 - Thursday, Feb 7, 2019
See More »
Between You & Me: Ana Teresa Fernández and Julio César Morales
Tuesday, Oct 2, 2018
7:00PM - 8:30PM
See More »
Some Shape or Form: A Clay Show
Monday, Oct 1, 2018 - Sunday, Oct 7, 2018
See More »
MAXIMAL
Monday, Sep 24, 2018 - Sunday, Sep 30, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: 2235
Friday, Sep 21, 2018 - Tuesday, Oct 2, 2018
See More »
2235
Friday, Sep 21, 2018 - Tuesday, Oct 2, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: 4 Artists: Representational Painting of America
Friday, Sep 21, 2018
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
4 Artists: Representational Painting of America
Friday, Sep 21, 2018 - Tuesday, Oct 2, 2018
See More »
Katharine Kuharic, 2018 Diebenkorn Teaching Fellow
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2018
7:30PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Happy Birthday!
Tuesday, Sep 18, 2018
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Happy Birthday!
Monday, Sep 17, 2018 - Monday, Sep 24, 2018
See More »
Peggy Phelan: Contact Warhol: Photography Without End
Friday, Sep 14, 2018
4:30PM - 6:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Will Brown: Ether
Thursday, Sep 13, 2018
6:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
Yugen
Monday, Sep 10, 2018 - Saturday, Sep 15, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Reintroducing…love?
Friday, Sep 7, 2018
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Reintroducing…love?
Friday, Sep 7, 2018 - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: The Unhappy Marriage of Sculpture and Textiles: Towards a More Progressive Union
Friday, Sep 7, 2018
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
The Unhappy Marriage of Sculpture and Textiles: Towards a More Progressive Union
Friday, Sep 7, 2018 - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: South American Roots
Tuesday, Sep 4, 2018
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
South American Roots
Sunday, Sep 2, 2018 - Saturday, Sep 8, 2018
See More »
Public Reception: XL Catlin Art Prize Traveling Exhibition
Friday, Aug 31, 2018
6:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: The Invitation to Forget You is One I Must Decline
Tuesday, Aug 28, 2018
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
The Invitation to Forget You is One I Must Decline
Monday, Aug 27, 2018 - Friday, Aug 31, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Moira
Friday, Aug 24, 2018 - Tuesday, Sep 4, 2018
See More »
Moira
Friday, Aug 24, 2018 - Tuesday, Sep 4, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Serenade & Nocturne
Friday, Aug 24, 2018 - Tuesday, Sep 4, 2018
See More »
Serenade & Nocturne
Friday, Aug 24, 2018 - Tuesday, Sep 4, 2018
See More »
XL Catlin Art Prize Traveling Exhibition
Wednesday, Aug 22, 2018 - Sunday, Oct 7, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: ONWARD
Tuesday, Aug 21, 2018
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
ONWARD
Monday, Aug 20, 2018 - Saturday, Aug 25, 2018
See More »
City Studio Summer 2018 Closing Reception
Saturday, Aug 18, 2018
3:00PM - 5:00PM
See More »
Closing Reception: Martin Machado: Fluid State
Friday, Aug 17, 2018
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
City Studio Summer 2018 Exhibition
Monday, Aug 13, 2018 - Saturday, Aug 18, 2018
See More »
Closing Reception: SFAI-Shanghai University Summer Art Program Exhibition
Thursday, Aug 9, 2018
11:00AM - 1:00PM
See More »
Sofía Córdova: The Thread of Operations is Broken
Monday, Jul 30, 2018
6:30PM
See More »
Opening Reception: REFLECTIONS
Friday, Jul 27, 2018
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Reflections
Friday, Jul 27, 2018 - Friday, Aug 3, 2018
See More »
Admit on the Spot Day
Friday, Jul 27, 2018
12:00PM - 4:00PM
See More »
Matmos Performs at SFAI
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2018
8:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: With Light Comes Soft Collisions
Tuesday, Jul 24, 2018
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Benjamin Britton: The Incandescent Sub-Present
Monday, Jul 23, 2018
6:30PM
See More »
With Light Comes Soft Collisions
Thursday, Jul 19, 2018 - Monday, Jul 30, 2018
See More »
Rudy Lemcke: The New World: Of Video Games and Museums
Monday, Jul 16, 2018
6:30PM
See More »
2018 Summer Symposium // Uprising
Saturday, Jul 14, 2018
1:00PM - 4:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: The Swell Show
Friday, Jul 13, 2018
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
The Swell Show
Friday, Jul 13, 2018 - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2018
See More »
Arrived! Opening Reception
Friday, Jun 29, 2018
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Arrived!
Friday, Jun 29, 2018 - Monday, Jul 16, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Shadows
Friday, Jun 29, 2018
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Shadows
Friday, Jun 29, 2018 - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2018
See More »
Aaron Terry: Art in the Age of #instagood Production
Monday, Jun 25, 2018
6:30PM
See More »
The Past Didn’t Go Anywhere
Sunday, Jun 24, 2018 - Saturday, Jul 7, 2018
See More »
Admit on the Spot Day
Friday, Jun 22, 2018
12:00PM - 4:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Martin Machado: Fluid State
Friday, Jun 8, 2018
6:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
Anhedonia: Paintings and Drawings by Emily Benz
Saturday, Jun 2, 2018 - Sunday, Jun 10, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Anhedonia
Saturday, Jun 2, 2018
11:00AM - 6:00PM
See More »
Martin Machado: Fluid State
Wednesday, May 30, 2018 - Sunday, Aug 19, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: City Studio (Spring 2018)
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: BFA Exhibition
Sunday, May 13, 2018
4:00PM - 6:00PM
See More »
Commencement
Sunday, May 13, 2018
2:00PM
See More »
BFA Exhibition
Sunday, May 13, 2018 - Friday, May 18, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: MFA Exhibition
Friday, May 11, 2018
7:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
MFA Exhibition
Friday, May 11, 2018 - Thursday, May 17, 2018
See More »
Vernissage — MFA Exhibition Preview
Thursday, May 10, 2018
7:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
MFA Film Festival
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
6:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
BA + MA Symposium
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
1:00PM - 5:00PM
See More »
Academic Honors + Awards Ceremony
Friday, May 4, 2018
4:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Rich Silences
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
5:00PM
See More »
Post-Bac Exhibition: Rich Silences
Monday, Apr 30, 2018 - Saturday, May 5, 2018
See More »
Symposium: The Anthropocene Style | Architecture, Urgency, and Climate Change
Saturday, Apr 28, 2018
12:00PM - 4:00PM
See More »
Julia Bryan-Wilson: Minds over Matter
Friday, Apr 27, 2018
4:30PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Keep The Family Close
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2018
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Keep the Family Close
Monday, Apr 23, 2018 - Saturday, Apr 28, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: General Store
Friday, Apr 20, 2018
6:30PM - 8:00PM
See More »
General Store
Friday, Apr 20, 2018 - Tuesday, May 1, 2018
See More »
Dodie Bellamy: Hoarding as Écriture
Friday, Apr 20, 2018
4:30PM
See More »
Admit on the Spot!
Friday, Apr 20, 2018
12:00PM - 4:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: The Emergency Has Been Everyday
Tuesday, Apr 17, 2018
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
The Emergency Has Been Everyday
Sunday, Apr 15, 2018 - Saturday, Apr 21, 2018
See More »
Gabriel Menotti: Forensic Hallucinations
Friday, Apr 13, 2018
4:30PM
See More »
Resoundings: a Round Table Discussion with Bill Fontana
Thursday, Apr 12, 2018
7:00PM
See More »