Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship

San Francisco Art Institute (SFAI) is currently seeking applications for the 2019 Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship.

Eligibility + Award Details

2019 Diebenkorn Fellowship is open to artists who reside in the Bay Area only

Eligibility: Applications are sought from early to mid-career artists who have an established body of work and exemplary exhibition record in the media of painting and drawing. Applicants must reside within the Bay Area. (In alternate years, the Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship is awarded to artists outside the Bay Area.) The review committee will consider the applicant’s experience and appropriateness to the SFAI mission and curriculum, as well as the quality of their work and written statements.

Award: The Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellow will receive $25,000 USD in compensation to teach two courses in the Fall 2019 semester, give a public lecture in the Visiting Artists and Scholars Lecture Series (VAS), and engage with the SFAI community through individual student critiques, academic programs, and activities.

How To Apply

Only electronic submissions will be accepted: Applications must include a letter of interest and artist statement, ten images, CV, and contact information for three references.

Application fee:
$25 USD

Fellowship Dates:
August 26–December 6, 2019

Application Deadline:
October 15, 2018

Fellow Announced:
December 7, 2018

2018 Diebenkorn Fellow: Katharine Kuharic

Katharine Kuharic is a painter primarily known for her allegorical paintings consisting of thousands of details, multiple figures, and complex technique. Kuharic received her BFA from Carnegie Mellon University in 1984.

Kuharic will teach two courses in Fall 2018, give a public lecture in the Visiting Artists and Scholars lecture series, and engage with the SFAI community through individual student critiques and other academic activities.

SFAI Faculty Brett Reichman states, “For the twentieth anniversary of the establishment of the Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship at SFAI, we’re enthusiastically looking forward to having Katharine Kuharic join us as the 2018 Fellow. Katharine’s rigorous approach to realism combined with projects devoted to political activism were essential in her selection. Katharine will be teaching a painting course she designed titled 'Painting as Protest' to 'probe and interrogate' our tumultuous political landscape. Her passion for teaching and firm commitment to her unique practice exemplifies the all-encompassing spirit of the Diebenkorn Fellowship.”

A partnership between San Francisco Art Institute and Headlands Center for the Arts.

Dedicated to the memory of distinguished painter Richard Diebenkorn.

Established in 1998 by the generosity of the family of Richard Diebenkorn, the fellowship provides an opportunity for artists to both teach at the San Francisco Art Institute and have sufficient time and financial support to work in the studio. In January 1946, Diebenkorn enrolled at SFAI as a student, and in September was awarded the school’s Albert Bender Grant, which allowed him to travel and work independently for a year. Diebenkorn went to New York, and when he returned the following year was offered his first teaching appointment at SFAI. He taught through 1949, and again from 1959 to 1966. The Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship was founded to honor his contributions as a teacher and to provide a similar opportunity to contemporary artists.

The Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship is funded by the generosity of the family of Richard Diebenkorn.

Fellowship Recipients

Katharine Kuharic, Fall 2018

Terry Powers, Fall 2017

Brad Kahlhamer, Fall 2016

Kate Nichols, Fall 2015

Allison Miller, Fall 2014

Liam Everett, Fall 2013

Judie Bamber, Fall 2012

Taravat Talepasand, Fall 2010

Marlene McCarty, Fall 2009

Josephine Taylor, Fall 2008

Iona Rozeal Brown, Fall 2007

Shaun O'Dell, Fall 2006

Brett Cook, Fall 2005

Darren Waterston, Fall 2004

Whitfield Lovell, Fall 2003

Fred Hayes, Fall 2002

Monica Majoli, Fall 2001

Nereida Garcia-Ferraz, Spring 2001

Polly Apfelbaum, Spring 2000

Brad Brown, Spring 1999