Graduate Lecture Series

Engage with local and international art communities.

Fridays at 4:30pm
Osher Lecture Hall | 800 Chestnut Street

Designed as an integral component of SFAI’s graduate curricula, the Graduate Lecture Series (GLS) puts students, alumni, and the general public in direct dialogue with major thought-leaders from the international community. The series relies on the critical exchange between guest and audience to promote a diverse and robust learning environment.


FREE + OPEN TO ALL

Spring 2018 Graduate Lecture Series

February 9
John Sanborn: Gilligan's Wake

February 16
Christoher Coppola: CRC the Juggler

March 2
Mildred Howard: Parenthetically Thinking: It’s More than Glass

April 13
Gabriel Menotti: Forensic Hallucinations

April 20
Dodie Bellamy: Hoarding as Écriture

April 27
Julia Bryan-Wilson: Minds over Matter

Mildred Howard: Parenthetically Thinking
Friday, Mar 2, 2018
4:30PM
See More »
Gabriel Menotti: Forensic Hallucinations
Friday, Apr 13, 2018
4:30PM
See More »
Dodie Bellamy: Hoarding as Écriture
Friday, Apr 20, 2018
4:30PM
See More »
Julia Bryan-Wilson: Minds over Matter
Friday, Apr 27, 2018
4:30PM
See More »

Past Events

Guillermo Galindo
Tuesday, Feb 20, 2018
7:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Aspects of The Contemporary and The Mythic
Tuesday, Feb 20, 2018
5:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Landscape Sculpture with Foghorns
Friday, Feb 16, 2018
6:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
Christopher Coppola: CRC The Juggler
Friday, Feb 16, 2018
4:30PM
See More »
Opening Reception: YOU WERE HERE
Tuesday, Feb 13, 2018
5:00PM
See More »
YOU WERE HERE
Sunday, Feb 11, 2018 - Saturday, Feb 17, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: L’enfant Terrible
Friday, Feb 9, 2018
6:30PM - 8:00PM
See More »
L’enfant Terrible
Friday, Feb 9, 2018 - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2018
See More »
John Sanborn: Gilligan’s Wake
Friday, Feb 9, 2018
4:30PM
See More »
Jenny Odell
Tuesday, Feb 6, 2018
7:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: FLOW
Tuesday, Feb 6, 2018
5:00PM
See More »
FLOW
Sunday, Feb 4, 2018 - Saturday, Feb 10, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Narratives
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2018
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Narratives
Sunday, Jan 28, 2018 - Saturday, Feb 3, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Gleaning/Gleaming
Friday, Jan 26, 2018
6:30PM - 8:00PM
See More »
Gleaning/Gleaming
Friday, Jan 26, 2018 - Tuesday, Feb 6, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Part I: A Voyage to Lilliput
Friday, Jan 26, 2018
6:30PM - 8:00PM
See More »
Part I: A Voyage to Lilliput
Friday, Jan 26, 2018 - Tuesday, Feb 6, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: If Opposites are Equal
Tuesday, Jan 23, 2018
5:00PM
See More »
If Opposites are Equal
Sunday, Jan 21, 2018 - Saturday, Jan 27, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Incli(nations)
Tuesday, Jan 16, 2018
5:00PM
See More »
Incli(nations)
Sunday, Jan 14, 2018 - Saturday, Jan 20, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: ‘In Bloom’
Friday, Jan 12, 2018
3:00PM - 5:30PM
See More »
‘In Bloom’
Friday, Jan 12, 2018 - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2018
See More »
Opening Reception: Delusions of Fear
Friday, Dec 1, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Delusions of Fear
Friday, Dec 1, 2017 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: WikiHow to Set Up an Art Exhibition - Completing the 10 Steps
Friday, Dec 1, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
WikiHow to Set Up an Art Exhibition - Completing the 10 Steps
Friday, Dec 1, 2017 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2017
See More »
Isaac Julien: Playtime
Friday, Dec 1, 2017 - Sunday, Feb 11, 2018
See More »
Tonel: Self-Portrait of the Artist as an Organic Intellectual
Tuesday, Nov 28, 2017
7:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: 2017 BFA Fall Exhibition
Tuesday, Nov 28, 2017
5:00PM
See More »
2017 BFA Fall Exhibition
Tuesday, Nov 28, 2017 - Friday, Dec 8, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: Inversion/Isolation
Friday, Nov 17, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Inversion/Isolation
Friday, Nov 17, 2017 - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: The Abject Goddess
Friday, Nov 17, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
The Abject Goddess
Friday, Nov 17, 2017 - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: WHOOPS!
Thursday, Nov 16, 2017
6:30PM
See More »
Terry Powers: Method Acting
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2017
7:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
WHOOPS!
Monday, Nov 13, 2017 - Friday, Nov 24, 2017
See More »
Grad Fall Open House
Saturday, Nov 11, 2017
10:00AM - 3:00PM
See More »
Undergrad Fall Open House | On-Campus
Saturday, Nov 11, 2017
10:00AM - 11:30AM
See More »
Alumni Weekend 2017
Friday, Nov 10, 2017 - Saturday, Nov 11, 2017
See More »
Fort Mason—Opening Spectacle
Friday, Nov 10, 2017 - Saturday, Nov 11, 2017
See More »
In Around Beyond
Friday, Nov 10, 2017 - Saturday, Feb 3, 2018
See More »
Michelle Handelman: Hustlers & Empires
Tuesday, Nov 7, 2017
7:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
Alumni Exhibition: Le Salon de Diego
Monday, Nov 6, 2017 - Sunday, Nov 12, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: Circo Duflar
Friday, Nov 3, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Circo Duflar
Friday, Nov 3, 2017 - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: De Profundis
Friday, Nov 3, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
De Profundis
Friday, Nov 3, 2017 - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2017
See More »
Ingrid LaFleur: In the Face of the Unchanging: Pleasure, Politics & Possibilities
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2017
7:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
Material Translations
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2017
5:30PM
See More »
Material Translations
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2017
5:30PM
See More »
Undergrad Fall Open House | SoCal
Saturday, Oct 28, 2017
12:00PM - 2:00PM
See More »
Fred Martin Speaks! Talk + Reception
Thursday, Oct 26, 2017
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Lava Thomas
Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017
7:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
San Francisco Graduate Portfolio Day (GNPD)
Sunday, Oct 22, 2017
12:00PM - 4:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Strange Stirring
Friday, Oct 20, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Strange Stirring
Friday, Oct 20, 2017 - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: The Prom Show
Friday, Oct 20, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
The Prom Show
Friday, Oct 20, 2017 - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2017
See More »
Closing Reception: Drawing the Curtain
Friday, Oct 20, 2017
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Stefan Kürten: Perfect World
Thursday, Oct 19, 2017
7:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
Screening: Five Artists: BillBobBillBillBob by Gunvor Nelson and Dorothy Wiley
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2017
7:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: FOOTWORK
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2017
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
FOOTWORK
Sunday, Oct 15, 2017 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: Drawing the Curtain
Friday, Oct 13, 2017
4:30PM - 6:30PM
See More »
Drawing the Curtain
Friday, Oct 13, 2017 - Friday, Oct 20, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: Portraits in Ceramics
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2017
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Portraits in Ceramics
Sunday, Oct 8, 2017 - Saturday, Oct 14, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: Contact Print
Friday, Oct 6, 2017
4:30PM
See More »
Contact Print
Friday, Oct 6, 2017 - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: Landing on the Veil
Friday, Oct 6, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Landing on the Veil
Friday, Oct 6, 2017 - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2017
See More »
Laura Kipnis
Monday, Oct 2, 2017
7:00PM - 9:00PM
See More »
The Open Book Show
Sunday, Oct 1, 2017 - Saturday, Oct 7, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: HELL
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2017
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
HELL
Sunday, Sep 24, 2017 - Saturday, Sep 30, 2017
See More »
President’s Address + Naming Ceremony: Osher Lecture Hall
Friday, Sep 22, 2017
5:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Happy Accidents
Friday, Sep 22, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Happy Accidents
Friday, Sep 22, 2017 - Sunday, Oct 1, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: American Typhoon
Friday, Sep 22, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
American Typhoon
Friday, Sep 22, 2017 - Sunday, Oct 1, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: In My Blood
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2017
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
In My Blood
Monday, Sep 18, 2017 - Saturday, Sep 23, 2017
See More »
PhotoAlliance
Friday, Sep 15, 2017 - Friday, Dec 8, 2017
See More »
Closing Reception: Ghosts of the Tower
Thursday, Sep 14, 2017
4:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: Poetics of Displacement
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2017
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Poetics of Displacement
Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 - Saturday, Sep 16, 2017
See More »
Cine | Club
Friday, Sep 8, 2017 - Friday, Dec 15, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: The Act of Seeing
Friday, Sep 8, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Opening Reception: THIS DOESN’T LOOK LIKE ART
Friday, Sep 8, 2017
4:30PM - 7:00PM
See More »
The Act of Seeing
Friday, Sep 8, 2017 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2017
See More »
This Doesn’t Look Like Art
Friday, Sep 8, 2017 - Sunday, Sep 17, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: Internal Something
Tuesday, Sep 5, 2017
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »
Internal Something
Sunday, Sep 3, 2017 - Saturday, Sep 9, 2017
See More »
Opening Reception: Languages of (A)scape
Tuesday, Aug 29, 2017
5:00PM - 7:00PM
See More »